Homeschooling in Colorado

Before You Begin Homeschooling

  1. Determine if homeschooling is best for your family

  2. Know the law

  3. Find a support group

  4. Decide which curriculum to use

Resources


Before You Begin Homeschooling

1. Determine if homeschooling is best for your family

2. Know the law

  • You must provide written notification to the local school district at least 14 days before beginning to homeschool. A change in the law, effective July 1, 2007, requires parents to provide written notice of the intent to homeschool for children ages six (on or after August 1 of the school year) through sixteen. Parents are not required to begin the homeschool program until the child is seven years old. The written notice must include the name, age, place of residence, and number of hours of attendance in the school year for each child who will homeschool (the number of hours should be at least an average of four hours per day for 172 days per year, for a total of at least 688 hours for the school year). You must notify the school district each year that the child is homeschooled, until age sixteen.
  • Keep track of records. The law requires that you keep records of attendance, immunizations, and test scores.
  • Students must be tested using a nationally norm-referenced test in grades 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11. (See below to find test resources.) The test results must be submitted to the local school district or to a private or parochial school for evaluation. If the student tests at or below the thirteenth percentile, he or she is required to enter a public, private, or parochial school at least until the next testing period.
  • Homeschool instruction must include reading, writing, speaking, mathematics, history, civics, literature, science, and the United States Constitution.
  • Homeschool students have the right to participate in extra-curricular and interscholastic activities at the local public school. See your neighborhood school for more information. If the student plans to participate in high school varsity athletics, be aware that participation may be limited because of CHSAA rules.
  • Parents are not required to have a teaching license to homeschool their children.
  • You can read the homeschooling law here or see Colorado Revised Statutes 22-33-104.5. Note: 2007 legislation changed the age at which a parent must submit written notification to the school district to age six (previously age seven) on August 1. You can read Senate Bill 07-016 for the text of the new requirements.

3. Find a support group

4. Decide which curriculum to use

(Back to top)

Resources

Standardized testing information

Tests must be administered by people who have been approved by the testing company. You can find qualified individuals through the CHEC testing Web page, homeschool support groups, and ads in homeschooling magazines. As part of their services, many non-public and charter schools offer standardized testing for homeschooled students.

(Back to top)

Homeschool resources links

General Resources

Independent, Correspondence, and Distance Learning Schools and Programs

Homeschooling Children with Special Needs

Public School Programs for Home Education

History of Homeschooling in Colorado

(Back to top)

Colorado bookstores that sell homeschool materials

The following links list bookstores in Colorado that sell homeschool materials:

(Back to top)



[Please report any errors]
:: Site Map :: Feedback ::
© School Choice For Kids by Independence Institute 2014
:: Site Map :: Feedback ::
© School Choice For Kids by Independence Institute 2014